Recipe: Black Bean Salsa

19 May

Ah, festive food. Food to watch a sports game on TV by. (Who am I kidding, I don’t watch sports.) Amendment: Food to watch Grey’s Anatomy by. (That’s more like it.)

What, my friends, is more festive than a fresh salsa? I mean really. It looks like a party, and I’ll be darned if it doesn’t taste like a party.

You may not know this, but I worked at Chipotle for a time. Yes, it’s true- I rolled burritos with the best of them. (In fact, I could roll a perfect burrito behind my back at the height of my glory days- no joke.) I loved that job. There were several reasons for this.

  1. The restaurant was within walking distance of my dorm.
  2. I pretty much picked/chose my hours according to my schedule.
  3. My boss let me eat one free burrito a day- an allowance that quickly became my “bread and butter” when the university cut off my meal plan due to late payments on my tuition. (The job didn’t pay too terribly well, I’ll admit.)
  4. I learned how to make salsa. Kick-butt salsa. Bona-fide, make your mouth water salsa.

With my amazing knowledge gleaned from one of the best fast-casual restaurants on earth, (thanks, Steve Ells, for putting me through my sophomore year of college both financially and physically- I may have starved without those free burritos), I now give you all a gift: black bean salsa done right.

Black Bean Salsa

Ingredients:

  • 1 can black beans, rinsed/drained
  • ½ bag frozen corn, thawed
  • 2 large tomatoes, diced
  • 1 ripe avocado, diced
  • ½ large purple onion, diced
  • 1 fresno pepper, diced (tiny)
  • 1 serrano pepper, diced (tiny)
  • ¼ cup cilantro, minced
  • 2-3 tbsp kosher salt
  • 3-4 tbsp lemon juice

Directions:

  1. Combine all ingredients. Mix well. Allow juices to drain for 5-10 minutes.
  2. DEVOUR.

Do you have a favorite salsa recipe? Share it in the comments!

Download the .pdf of this recipe: Black Bean Salsa

8 Responses to “Recipe: Black Bean Salsa”

  1. Jessica Havican May 19, 2011 at 11:54 am #

    That looks awesome!!

  2. Christine May 19, 2011 at 1:29 pm #

    Hi, great recipe! I made Black Bean Salsa a few weeks ago, and posted it on my blog. I will have to try your recipe… sounds great! I have a lot of favorite salsa and dips.

    • chefshellina May 19, 2011 at 5:33 pm #

      I can’t wait to check out your blog and try some of your salsas and dips- summertime parties!

  3. Claudia May 19, 2011 at 8:51 pm #

    I love the variety of peppers in this! And adore black bean salsas. I don’t need tortilla chips – I just spoonfeed myself.

    • chefshellina May 19, 2011 at 9:40 pm #

      I can relate- it’s just too good to mess around with chips sometimes! Thanks for coming by. 🙂

  4. Jenna A. | The Paleo Project May 19, 2011 at 11:48 pm #

    MMM Sounds delish… Wish I ate beans and corn 😦

    • chefshellina May 20, 2011 at 8:08 am #

      No worries Jenna. Make the exact same salsa without the beans/corn. (If you take out the avocados too, you’ll be left with the exact chipotle pico de gallo recipe, which is still awesome)

Leave a Reply

