Dessert Recipe: Blondies

15 May

Brownies.

Heaven’s gift to mankind, especially the pregnant folk.

But what to do when one has no cocoa or chocolate to speak of? Dig out the brown sugar and go to town.

I recently tried this recipe (originally from my Better Homes and Gardens cookbook) when I realized that I had promised a dessert to my husband for a dinner party and had yet to come up with any ideas. Not only had I procrastinated on the idea-making process, which is normal, but I had also left myself less than one hour until the dessert was required to make an appearance and “wow” the diners. As you can imagine, I was in a bind. No time to run to the store, no time to bake a cake. No time to even brainstorm about it. I needed to make something delectable pronto- and with whatever was in the cupboard.

After about three minutes of recipe-scanning, I found this one- and oh my word- they really are blonde brownies- and you know what… they might just be more fun.

Blondies

Originally from The Better Homes and Gardens Cookbook.

Ingredients:

  • 2 cups brown sugar
  • 2/3 cup butter
  • 2 eggs
  • 2 cups flour
  • 1 tsp baking powder
  • ½ tsp baking soda
  • 2 tsp vanilla

Directions:

  1. Preheat oven to 350 degrees (f)
  2. Grease a 9×13 pan, set aside.
  3. In a saucepan, stir together brown sugar and butter until smooth.
  4. Remove from heat, allow to cool for 5 minutes or so.
  5. Stir in eggs, one at a time.
  6. Add vanilla.
  7. Add baking powder.
  8. Add baking soda.
  9. Add flour.
  10. Pour into baking pan.
  11. Bake for 25 minutes, or until toothpick comes out clean.
  12. Sprinkle with powdered sugar if desired.
Do you have a favorite dessert to make in a hurry? Share it in the comments.
Download the .pdf of this recipe: Blondies

12 Responses to “Dessert Recipe: Blondies”

  1. Meghan May 15, 2011 at 10:19 am #

    Your blondies look great! I bet everyone at the dinner party loved them 🙂

    • chefshellina May 15, 2011 at 12:12 pm #

      Thank you! I’ll admit, they were popular. 🙂

  2. Parsley Sage May 15, 2011 at 11:52 am #

    Way to whip up an awesome dessert in a pinch! They look wonderful, well done 🙂

    • chefshellina May 15, 2011 at 12:12 pm #

      Thanks! I love recipes I can fall back on when my procrastination gets the best of me. 😉

  3. Catherine May 15, 2011 at 12:59 pm #

    I LOVE blondies! I have a tried-&-true Dorie Greenspan recipe with chocolate chips that I adore, but my husband is of the opinion that, while brownies are amazing, & chocolate chip cookies are amazing, putting them together results in “mutant spawn” or something like that. So I haven’t made them in awhile.

    I was in a similar situation to yours a couple months ago & whipped these up: http://makemyselfathome.wordpress.com/2011/02/24/my-chocolate-chip-cookies/
    Perfect crowd-pleaser in a hurry every time!

    • chefshellina May 15, 2011 at 1:06 pm #

      OMG my husband and I just laughed out loud about the “mutant spawn” thing! (And for the record, the hubbster agrees)

      Love the choc chip cookie recipe you rustled up- nice work. 🙂

  4. thatskinnychickcanbake May 15, 2011 at 1:45 pm #

    Oh, yum! Blondies are one of my favorite cookie bars…even if the family likes brownies better. Yours are picture perfect.

    • chefshellina May 15, 2011 at 4:44 pm #

      Thanks for the compliment- I’ve been working on my food photography for the past few weeks. About the blondies- mmm… just thinking about them makes me want to whip some up again! resist! 😉

  5. Kneady Sweetie May 16, 2011 at 2:03 pm #

    I am such a procrastinator so I definitely know how you feel! These look wonderful! I am also a huge fan of brownies so I know how devastating it can be when you are out of cocoa 🙂

    • chefshellina May 16, 2011 at 2:22 pm #

      Thank you! I was very pleased with how they came out, even if I couldn’t make them chocolate. 😉

  6. meeshiesmom May 17, 2011 at 2:05 pm #

    I have always wanted to make blondies. I’m bookmarking this page.

    • chefshellina May 17, 2011 at 2:10 pm #

      Let me know how you like them- and hey, thanks for stopping by! 🙂

Leave a Reply

