Recipe: Creamy Garlic Shrimp and Pasta

7 May

I. Love. Red. Lobster.

I know, I know- it’s not the highest of highest restaurants in the world. When I tell people that it’s my first and foremost choice for special dinners and celebrations, they roll their eyes. (Not that there’s anything WRONG with Red Lobster- but let’s face it- it’s no gourmet anomaly.)

That being said, I love it anyway. I would eat there for every birthday every year if I could… and I do.

One of my favorite dishes there is the shrimp fettuccine alfredo- it’s so rich, so good, such a diet-killer.

So, in true Frugal Flambe fashion, I found a healthier option. And, it’s not $13 a plate. WIN.

Creamy Garlic Shrimp and Pasta

Ingredients:

  • 3 quarts water
  • 1 (9 ounce) package fresh linguine
  • 1 pound peeled and deveined large shrimp
  • ¼ cup dry white wine
  • 1/3 cup plus 1 ½ tablespoons (3 ounces) light garlic and herbs spreadable cheese
  • ½ cup fat-free milk
  • 3 garlic cloves, pressed
  • ½ teaspoon salt
  • 1 ½ tablespoons chopped fresh oregano
  • oregano sprigs
  • ¼ cup tomatoes, diced
  • ¼ cup green onion, diced

Directions:

  1. Bring 3 quarts water to a boil in a large dutch oven; add pasta and shrimp. Cook 3-4 minutes or until pasta is tender and shrimp are done. Drain and keep warm.
  2. While pasta and shrimp cook, combine wine and next 4 ingredients in a large non stick skillet over medium-high heat. Bring to a boil. Reduce heat; simmer 2 minutes or until slightly thickened, stirring constantly.
  3. Add pasta and shrimp to sauce in pan, tossing to coat. Add tomatoes and green onions. Cook for two minutes. Stir in chopped oregano just before serving. Garnish with oregano sprigs.

Do you have any favorite (and perhaps not gourmet) make-it-at-home but still restaurant-inspired recipes? Share them in the comments!

Download the .pdf of this recipe: Creamy Garlic Shrimp and Pasta

4 Responses to “Recipe: Creamy Garlic Shrimp and Pasta”

  1. kim @ girlevolving May 8, 2011 at 7:00 am #

    YUM. Making this!

  2. lifetasteslikefood May 9, 2011 at 12:08 pm #

    This looks so good! I am a sucker for Red Lobster too!! Something about their menu just calls to me. Great alternative recipe. Thanks!! 🙂

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Garlic Shrimp Recipes - FISHING WORLD – FISHING WORLD - May 16, 2011

    […] Recipe: Creamy Garlic Shrimp and Pasta « The Frugal FlambeDescription : Recipe: Creamy Garlic Shrimp and Pasta. 7 May. I. Love. Red. Lobster. I know, I know- it’s not the highest of highest restaurants in the world. When I tell people that it’s my first and foremost choice for special dinners and …http://thefrugalflambe.wordpre .. […]

Leave a Reply

