Recipe: Grilled Bruschetta Chicken

6 May

So, as I’ve mentioned before, it’s high time I tried to eat more healthy. One thing I haven’t mentioned, though, is that I’m Italian. Well, in reality, I’m “Heinz 57”- a biological mutt. But you know, I figure it’s my prerogative to claim the Italian percentage (however small it might be) as my “main” ethnic background- aside from Caucasian. And, to top it off, I claim the standard well-known “attributes” of the Italian community: I’m loud, I’m proud, and mama-mia, I LOVE to eat. Pastas, breads, sauces, and spices- all of it makes me happy. Now that I’m working on being healthy, all the pastas and breads and cream-based sauces are constantly circling my head, taunting me. So I went on a mission: I want to eat flavorfully, but yummy-fully. This recipe perfectly fits that bill.

(Lovingly and thankfully borrowed from The Girl Who Ate Everything)

Grilled Bruschetta Chicken

Ingredients:

  • 4 small boneless skinless chicken breast halves
  • 1/2 cup KRAFT Sun-Dried Tomato dressing, divided
  • 2 tomato, finely chopped
  • 1/2 cup shredded part-skim mozzarella cheese
  • 1/4 cup chopped fresh basil or 1 tsp. dried basil leaves

Directions:

  1. Place a large sheet of heavy-duty foil over half of grill grate; heat grill to medium heat.
  2. Meanwhile, place chicken in resealable plastic bag. Add 1/4 cup dressing and seal bag. Turn bag over several times to evenly coat chicken with dressing. Refrigerate 10 minutes (I marinate it all day if I remember in time). Remove chicken from bag; discard bag and dressing.
  3. Grill chicken on uncovered side of grill for about 6 minutes. Meanwhile, combine remaining 1/4 dressing, tomatoes, cheese and basil.
  4. Turn the chicken over and place cooked-side up, on foil on the grill. Top with tomato mixture. Close lid. Grill 8 minutes or until chicken is done.

*Sometimes we add a splash of balsalmic vinegar to give it a bit more zip.

Do you have a favorite classic dish you’ve converted to a healthier version? Share it in the comments!

Download the .pdf version of this recipe: Bruschetta Chicken

Leave a Reply

