Just the Basics with Jenna: Paleo Banana Bread

20 Apr

I am so excited to announce our newest columnist- Jenna from The Paleo Project. As you know, we’ve been looking for someone who would be able to write a column especially geared towards those families with allergies, intolerances, and health needs. Check back every Wednesday for her recipes, tips, and encouragement!

Where should we start? Names? Okay, I’m Jenna. Age? 23. Food Philosophy? Put your health first, the environment at a close second, and listen to your body, it knows more than you think. Since we’ll be getting quite close over the next few weeks, I should probably tell you how I got here. Not just here, at the Frugal Flambe, but here as a food blogger leading an allergen-free, paleolithic lifestyle.

A paleo diet is also referred to as the caveman diet. It consists of eating foods that were available to our paleolithic ancestors before agriculture was introduced, before fats were removed from our diet and before the USDA designed a food pyramid that went completely against the inner workings of our bodies. I didn’t set out to find a diet. I would have gladly continued to eat gluten covered, sugar coated, soy based, vegetable oiled, dairy filled foods for the rest of my life. The only problem was, those foods wanted nothing to do with me. It was like trying to be part of a group my whole life, trying to fit in, torturing myself to belong. I saw my face, back and chest constantly breaking out with acne, and I felt the sharp pains in my stomach after every meal. What I didn’t see, was that the foods I kept putting into my body were harming me, rejecting me and laughing about it behind my back.

After years and years of this self-induced torture, I decided to stop making excuses and take control. I eliminated cheese, milk, soy, grains, gluten, legumes, starchy vegetables like corn and potatoes, sugar, peanuts and vegetable oils. I now limit myself to eating grass-fed beef, organic chicken, cage-free DHA omega 3 eggs, wild fish, vegetables, fruit, nuts and healthy fats and the frequent dark chocolate treat. I started navigating my way around the kitchen and found cooking to be calming and second nature. My passion for writing and photography led me to the blog world and my allergen-free approach to cooking at home led me to The Frugal Flambe.

It took me a lot of research and work to get here, but I’m here to stay. I blog about the constant effort I have to make to lead this lifestyle. I eat at home as often as possible not only because of the limited allergen-free options at restaurants, but because I’d rather save my money to purchase whole, organic, unprocessed foods. I learned the beauty in preparing my meals and the satisfaction of knowing where they come from.

One of my favorite things to do is find foods that I loved in my pre-paleo days and allergize them. To start things off, I want to share a delicious treat I created by taking a classic recipe and replacing the ingredients. My mission is to create a healthier meal that makes my body happier, without compromising taste.

Paleo Banana Bread
*Free of Sugar, Grain, Gluten, Nuts and Soy, **Contains Eggs
Ingredients:
  • 4 eggs
  • 3 small bananas
  • 3/4 cups of gluten-free coconut flour
  • 1/2 tsp gluten-free baking powder
  • 3 tbs honey
  • 1/4 cup melted coconut oil
  • 1/2 tsp vanilla extract
  • 1 tbs cinnamon
Directions:
  1. Preheat oven to 350 degrees F.
  2. Using a hand mixer or food processor, combine eggs, bananas, honey, vanilla and coconut oil.
  3. In a bowl, mix flour, baking powder and cinnamon.
  4. Combine wet and dry ingredients. Mix until a thick batter forms.
  5. Pour into a greased bread pan. Cook for 45 minutes at 350 degrees F.
  6. Place broiler on low, broil for 5 minutes, watching closely.
  7. Let bread cool. Top with coconut butter, honey and cinnamon.


This bread was so simple and I honestly find coconut flour to replicate regular flour most in taste. For families without nut allergies, I’d recommend adding walnuts and for families with egg allergies, a simple egg replacement is

1 egg = 1 tbs flaxseed + 2-3 tbs water.

It was wonderful meeting you and I look forward to sharing more recipes, research and photos.

Download the .pdf version of this recipe: Paleo Banana Bread.

Jenna comes to the Frugal Flambe with delicious allergen-free recipes for the busy family. A writer and experimental photographer, after several years of food sensitivity and skin problems, Jenna decided to begin a paleolithic lifestyle. Paleo eaters tend to stick to the pre-agriculture food groups: meat and fish, vegetables and fruits, healthy fats, nuts and herbs. No sugar, no dairy, no grains, no legumes, no peanuts, nothing processed. Just whole, organic, healthy foods that work well with the human body, eliminate auto-immune diseases and improve food related ailments. This allergen-free diet is Jenna’s new way of life and she is constantly teaching herself new ways to cook and feed her body what it needs. Every Wednesday, she’ll share her her dishes with families who suffer from allergies, or people who are looking to change their eating habits.  No sugar? No dairy? No grain? No problem!
One Response to “Just the Basics with Jenna: Paleo Banana Bread”

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. The Paleo Project | My Chocolate Obsession Continues - April 22, 2011

    […] is the Gluten-Free Banana Bread I made for my weekly column over at The Frugal Flambe. Don’t forget to check them out, I post allergen-free recipes every […]

Leave a Reply

