Recipe: Strawberry Spinach Salad

16 Apr

I love salad. There are many reasons for this. I’d be lying if I said the first reason was anything other than salads are freakin’ easy. They require nearly no cooking (usually) and clean up well. Boom. I’m sold. As if that weren’t enough, they also are fresh, cool, and most of them are downright gorgeous. I’m usually more comfortable bringing a salad to a group potluck event than I am any other dish- mostly because I KNOW it’s going to be a hit.

This is one of those “I KNOW it’s going to be a hit” recipes. Simple, fresh, delicious.

Strawberry Spinach Salad

Ingredients:

  • 2 packages spinach
  • 1 pint strawberries
  • feta cheese
  • 1 cup toasted pecan halves (bakes 15 min at 300 degrees F)
  • Dressing
    • 1/3 cup white vinegar
    • ¾ cup white sugar
    • 1 tsp dry mustard
    • 1 tsp salt
    • 1 ½ tsp minced onion
    • 1 cup oil
    • 1 ½ tbsp poppy seeds

Directions:

  1. Put spinach, sliced strawberries, and pecans in a bowl.
  2. In a separate bowl, mix dressing.
  3. Combine salad and dressing.
  4. Allow friends to ooh and ahh over your brilliance.

Do you have any easy salads you’d like to share? Put them in the comments!

Download the .pdf version of this recipe HERE.

4 Responses to “Recipe: Strawberry Spinach Salad”

  1. lifetasteslikefood April 18, 2011 at 4:37 pm #

    This seriously sounds so delicious! I’ve been making more salads lately because of the weather, but nothing close to this! Just finished off a huge flat of strawberries from Costco this weekend but this give me an excuse to go and get some more!!! Pecans? Feta? Strawberries? AND homemade dressing? Everything I love combined into one great meal!

  2. backcountryfishnerd April 25, 2011 at 2:43 pm #

    Oh jeez… A non-cook friend of mine (the kind that burns mac&cheese) made this for me once, it was great! Apparently easy as well.

    • chefshellina April 25, 2011 at 2:47 pm #

      Yep- even the non-cooks can whip this one up. I actually made a different version of it today- I replaced the vinegar with lemon juice, and left out the poppy-seeds, then topped the spinach with tangerine slices, craisins, and wonton strips. DELISH.

Leave a Reply

