Recipe: EASY Hollandaise Sauce

13 Apr

Yesterday, the hubbster posted his awesome Breakfast Skillet recipe. Whenever he makes this dish, (and when I’m feeling it), I whip up some hollandaise sauce. Now, I can hear the groans already, but I just want to tell you- I make it EASY.

Come on, guys, you know me by now. I don’t mess around. If the recipe says “this is finicky” or “requires constant supervision” or “bachelor’s degree required”,Β  I don’t make it. I don’t care if it’s the best darn thing I’ll ever cook in my life- I don’t make it. Why? Because I’m normal, (as long as normal means marginally lazy and short on patience).

If you’re like me, this hollandaise sauce is for you.

EASY Hollandaise Sauce

Recipe originally pulled from Cooking: A Commonsense Guide. (an awesome cookbook, one I strongly recommend.)

Ingredients:

  • 2 egg yolks
  • 1 tbsp water
  • Β½ tbsp lemon juice
  • 3 oz cooled, melted butter

Directions:

  1. Combine all ingredients in the food processor for 10 seconds.
  2. With the motor running, add the butter in a thin stream.
  3. Believe it or not, that’s it. Boom. Hollandaise. Don’t you look smart?

Do you have any painfully easy sauce recipes? We’d love them. Put them in the comments.

Download the .pdf version of this recipe HERE.

4 Responses to “Recipe: EASY Hollandaise Sauce”

  1. thekitchenbitch April 13, 2011 at 8:18 am #

    I like to make mine over a double boiler instead so the egg yolks cook slightly. But that’s just the chef in me πŸ™‚

    • chefshellina April 14, 2011 at 9:22 am #

      I’ll admit, it’s as bare-bones as it gets, but it does the job. And hey, the chef in you is inspirational! πŸ™‚

  2. Laura April 13, 2011 at 8:10 pm #

    Great idea! Last time I made hollandaise I also made scrambled eggs twice πŸ˜€ By the way, I’m having a virtual dinner party and you’re invited: http://wp.me/p1hWXH-ng.

    • chefshellina April 14, 2011 at 9:24 am #

      Seriously, I gave up on making “real” hollandaise. No one should say that many cuss words before breakfast. πŸ˜‰

Leave a comment