Dessert Recipe: Molasses Cookies

10 Apr

It’s Sunday! That means we get to have dessert! Since the hubbster chose last week, I got to choose what we’d eat this week, and of course I’m predictable. Three things you might not know about me:

  1. I love cookies; soft in the middle, crispy on the edges, always sweet. Preferably warm.
  2. I am a compulsive sweet-eater, so I only cook dessert once a week.
  3. Molasses, maple syrup, or any other smooth, sticky, sugary substance is my favorite for anything. Ever.

Needless to say, molasses cookies it is.

Molasses Cookies

Ingredients:

  • ¾ cup margarine, melted
  • 1 cup white sugar
  • 1 egg
  • ¼ cup molasses
  • 2 cups flour
  • 2 tsp baking soda
  • ½ tsp salt
  • 1 tsp cinnamon
  • ½ tsp ground cloves
  • ½ tsp ground ginger
  • ½ cup white sugar

Directions:

  1. In a bowl, mix margarine, 1 cup sugar, and egg until smooth.
  2. Stir in molasses.
  3. Combine the flour, baking soda, salt, cinnamon, cloves, and ginger; blend into the molasses mixture.
  4. Cover and chill dough for one hour.
  5. Preheat oven to 375 degrees (f).
  6. Roll dough into walnut sized balls, and roll them in the remaining white sugar.
  7. Place cookies 2 inches apart onto ungreased baking sheets.
  8. Bake for 8-10 minutes, until tops are cracked.
  9. Cool on wire racks. Or, like me, eat immediately while whispering expletives. Perfect.

Please, share your fave cookie recipe with us! Put it in the comments.

Download the .pdf file of this recipe HERE.

8 Responses to “Dessert Recipe: Molasses Cookies”

  1. MCG ESQ April 10, 2011 at 9:33 am #

    Ohh these remind me of when I was a little girl. We always used to make molasses cookies. Mumm, I can taste the molasses now:) Have you ever tried Ginger molasses cookies? They are really good.

    • chefshellina April 10, 2011 at 9:44 am #

      These actually have a fair amount of ground ginger in them- makes them a bit spicy. I love it!

  2. literarychicks78 April 10, 2011 at 8:36 pm #

    Oh the memories. It makes me long to throw the diet out the window… Forget the diet. I’m headed to the kitchen.

    • chefshellina April 10, 2011 at 8:55 pm #

      LOL! You make me laugh- I know that feeling all too well.

  3. itsybitsybrianna April 10, 2011 at 9:10 pm #

    great recipe
    xxoxo
    bB

    please do stop by and say hi
    http://www.itsybitsybrianna.wordpress.com

    • chefshellina April 10, 2011 at 9:11 pm #

      Thanks Brianna- I will for SURE take a look at your blog- just as soon as I finish this paper I’ve been avoiding… 😉

  4. literarychicks78 April 10, 2011 at 10:02 pm #

    The cookies just came out of the oven. They turned out great. The smell got the family out of bed. Now for a big glass of milk.

    • chefshellina April 10, 2011 at 11:16 pm #

      Oh, how wonderful to hear! (And now I’m sneaking to the cupboard for more myself…)

Leave a Reply

