Healthy Bites with Holly: It’s the Little Things

8 Apr

I am looking over my weight loss book. Every week I am consistently losing a little over a pound, and yet I am not starving. I even occasionally eat out, and have a margarita. Looking back, it has been three months since I made the decision to eat healthy and save my life. The decision was a big one, and one that I had made in my mind and heart a hundred times before. What is the difference now? I think it is the small changes, about a 100 little ones, that have finally made the difference.

The philosphy of small incremental changes towards constant improvement is called “kaisen”.   Toyota, and other companies use this philosophy to reach goals.  Kaisen is where flexibility, simplicity and the quest for constant improvement become the driving goals.   This means that instead of my ultimate goal being the loss of 90 pounds, I changed my goal to focus on the process– on make those constant small improvements every day.  Committing to writing this blog every Friday is a part of that.

Looking back, were are the things I slowly added or changed:

  • I drink 8 cups of water or more a day
  • I save my calories for food and do not drink anything that has calories
  • If given a choice, I buy whole grain products
  • I do not buy bread or bread products.
  • I try eating at least 90g of Protein a day
  • I cleaned out my kitchen and removed all the high fat, high carb items that were too much of a temptation (like peanut butter and high sugar cereals)
  • At night, when I want to snack for no reason, I pick up my knitting instead to keep my hands busy
  • I buy pre-cut, ready to eat vegies and put them in the front of my fridge so they are the first things I see when I open the door.
  • I eat breakfast now to avoid being over hungry at lunch
  • Every week, I try a new healthy food I have never tried before
  • I now eat high protein greek yogurt instead of high fructose corn syrup yogurt

Nothing on this list is earth shattering, and perhaps many of them you have heard before.  But every day, every week, I make a very slight change.   And by keeping my focus on the changes, and not on the scale, I hope to wake up one morning and find that I have achieved a healthy weight.

Have you made a change that has helped you lose weight?  Please comment below and let me know.  I’d love to hear about your success.

To read more about how engineers apply Kaisen: http://www.engineeringtalk.com/news/sod/sod105.html#ixzz1IthyL5u3

Holly is the mother of three grown daughters, and has recently embarked on her own journey of weight loss and healthy living. Convinced that the key to her success is smart, but manageable, eating choices, she is now a regular columnist for The Frugal Flambe- you can catch her posts every Friday right here! Join her every week as she shares her triumphs and successes, and maybe a couple of stumbles along the way. Eating healthy doesn’t have to be horrible- Holly can do it, and so can you.

Leave a Reply

