Recipe: Chocolate Covered Fruit

3 Apr

It’s Sunday again, folks! And that means dessert day at The Frugal Flambe.

I asked my husband what he wanted for dessert this weekend, and he responded with, “something healthy”.

Really…

For a few moments, I just sat and looked at him, my brain rustling through my mental-recipe-box, and came up empty-handed.

“Something like… chocolate dipped strawberries,” the hubbster finally offered.

While it’s not entirely healthy, it sounded delicious. But my mind didn’t stop there. I remembered a friend of mine who once had a bouquet of chocolate covered fruit delivered to her desk at work for her birthday, and I was inspired.

“How about an assortment of chocolate covered fruit?” I asked.

“YUMMMMY!”- both the husband and I looked over at our almost three year old, who has obviously begun listening in on our conversations without our knowledge.

And it was decided- chocolate covered fruit! Here’s how we did it:

  1. Heat chocolate chips in a double boiler. Don’t have one? Put chocolate chips in a metal bowl over a pot of boiling water. Stir constantly until chocolate is smooth.
  2. Dip fruit in the chocolate and place on wax paper.
  3. Realize you have too much chocolate and too little fruit, grab a sleeve of crackers and dip them, too. Add them to the wax paper.
  4. Allow to cool until chocolate is firm.
  5. EAT!

Do you have any simple dessert recipes? We’d love to hear them- share in the comments.

6 Responses to “Recipe: Chocolate Covered Fruit”

  1. Rufus' Food and Spirit Guide April 3, 2011 at 9:12 am #

    Love chocolate covered fruit. It looks so decadent, but is easy to make too.

    • chefshellina April 3, 2011 at 11:00 am #

      Yeah, it kind of is an easy, sexy dessert. Plus, who doesn’t love molten chocolate? Seriously. 😉

  2. Tessa April 3, 2011 at 1:20 pm #

    Thanks for checking out my grilled tuna steak post http://wp.me/p17DQY-jj and commenting. I hope you do subscribe. Thanks for posting the pic of chocolate covered crackers. The idea never occurred to me, but now I want to try it.

    • chefshellina April 3, 2011 at 2:38 pm #

      There’s something about sweet and salty- it just goes so well together! Thanks for stopping by. 🙂

  3. Shawn April 5, 2011 at 9:55 am #

    Wow! Sounds yummy! I’m going to try this one for tonight’s dessert!! Thanks so much for the tip!

Leave a Reply

