Recipe: Basil Chicken

26 Mar

I recently struck grocery-store gold and found a coupon for 1/2 price Gold’n’Plump boneless skinless chicken breasts. I was excited. So excited, in fact, that I bought four packages- stock up while you can, right? Right. So here I am, loading four packages of meat into my freezer, when, literally, my husband walks in with his own bag of four 1/2 price Gold’n’Plump boneless skinless chicken breasts. And guess what? He is SO EXCITED. “Look at the deal I found, babe! Stock up while you can, right?”

Needless to say, my freezer is FULL of chicken. (Speaking of which, are you free to come over for supper sometime in the next couple of weeks? I have no room in my freezer for leftovers.) This is good news for you, readers- now I’ve got all the meat I can handle and enough recipes to make it worth giving up the freezer space. Chicken lovers of the world unite: I give you a new recipe!

Basil Chicken

Recipe adapted from The Food Network.

Ingredients:

  • 1 boneless skinless chicken breast per diner
  • ΒΌ cup freshly chopped basil leaves, plus 2 tbsp freshly minced basil leaves
  • 1/3 cup butter, melted
  • Splash white cooking wine
  • 2 cloves minced garlic
  • 1 cup Italian breadcrumbs
  • 1 tbsp grated parmesan
  • ΒΌ tsp garlic powder
  • 1/8 tsp salt
  • 1/8 tsp pepper

Directions:

  1. Season chicken with salt, pepper, and garlic powder.
  2. Stir chopped basil into melted butter.
  3. Dip chicken in basil butter, then in breadcrumbs.
  4. Pour remaining basil butter into pan over medium heat, add wine, minced garlic.
  5. Sear chicken on medium-high heat for 2 minutes on each side, then put entire pan into the over for approximately 12 minutes (or until chicken is cooked through- check with a knife).
  6. Allow chicken to rest for 3-5 minutes, loosely covered with foil.
  7. Sprinkle with basil leaves if desired.
  8. Serve.

Do you guys have any fave chicken recipes? Lord knows I’ve got enough chicken to try most of them- leave the recipes/links in the comments!

Download .pdf version of this recipe HERE.

11 Responses to “Recipe: Basil Chicken”

  1. Recipe Chefs March 26, 2011 at 10:43 am #

    I love food, and I really enjoy reading your blog very much thank you for sharing this post. Feel free to check out our recipes

    Creamy Herb Chicken

    • chefshellina March 26, 2011 at 10:45 am #

      Thank you so much for coming by! Checking out your blog now. πŸ™‚

  2. Rufus' Food and Spirit Guide March 26, 2011 at 11:33 am #

    This looks great. Can’t wait to try it.

    • chefshellina March 26, 2011 at 11:40 am #

      It’s awesome. There’s something special about pan-searing and finishing meat in the oven. So good. Thanks for coming by. πŸ™‚

  3. Babygirl March 26, 2011 at 11:46 am #

    This basil chicken looks absolutely delicious. I love this recipe. I can’t wait to try this out. Very nice post.

    • chefshellina March 26, 2011 at 11:47 am #

      Thanks for coming by- and let me know how it turns out!

  4. brieana March 26, 2011 at 3:41 pm #

    this sounds great. i have a bunch of basil in my fridge from the lemon raspberry basil cake (http://brieencroute.wordpress.com/2011/03/18/lemon-raspberry-basil-cake/) i made a week or so back and had no idea what to do with it before it went bad. i’m making this for dinner tomorrow! πŸ™‚

    • chefshellina March 26, 2011 at 4:29 pm #

      Ohhhh perfect! I’m growing a basil plant on my windowsill, and I’ve been clipping it so much the poor thing looks pretty darn pitiful. But, it’ll have to get used to it because that cake looks divine!

  5. lillagreca April 4, 2011 at 1:59 pm #

    Oh wow! This is calling my name! I have to make this soon…looks amazing!

    • chefshellina April 4, 2011 at 2:13 pm #

      It was very good, and actually, Gold’n’Plump chicken company liked it too- they posted it on their Facebook page. Cool, right?

      • lillagreca April 4, 2011 at 4:09 pm #

        That IS cool!! πŸ™‚ *high five*

Leave a Reply

