Recipe: Banana Cream Pie

20 Mar

I’ve never really been sold on bananas. From childhood, I’ve steered clear of them as much as possible- they always made me a little squeamish. I don’t pretend to know where this weirdness came from, but it exists. As I’ve grown up, I’ve been able to tolerate them more (although I still can’t get close to banana flavored candy!)

With all that being said, I must admit, this dessert makes me think I’ve really loved bananas all along- I just didn’t know it. It’s a bit persnickety as you actually make your own custard from scratch for it, but SO worth it.

Banana Cream Pie

My pie was delicious, but wasn’t pretty. Image Credit: The Girl Who Ate Everything

Ingredients:

  • 9 inch baked pie shell (store bought is fine)
  • 3 large bananas
  • 2/3 cup sugar
  • 3 tbsp cornstarch
  • ½ tsp salt
  • 3 cups milk
  • 3 egg yolks, slightly beaten
  • 1 tbsp butter
  • 1 ½ tsp vanilla

Directions:

  1. Mix sugar, cornstarch, and salt in a saucepan over medium heat.
  2. Gradually stir in milk.
  3. Cook, stirring constantly, until mixture thickens and boils.
  4. Boil 1 minute.
  5. Remove from heat.
  6. Gradually stir at least half of hot mixture into egg yolks.
  7. Blend egg yolks and mixture in with the unused half in the saucepan.
  8. Boil 1 minute more, stirring constantly.
  9. Remove from heat.
  10. Blend in butter and vanilla.
  11. Allow to cool.
  12. Alternate layers of banana and pudding in pie shell.
  13. Serve with whipping cream.

Delicious, cool, and refreshing.

Have you ever hated something and then tried it in another context and loved it? Share in the comments!

Download the .pdf version of this recipe HERE.

4 Responses to “Recipe: Banana Cream Pie”

  1. The Southern Lady March 20, 2011 at 11:19 am #

    I love banana cream pie! My mother used to make the best custard and banana cream pies I ever ate. I can’t seem to get mine to turn out like hers. Thanks for coming by. I think this looks great. Hope you are having a good weekend.

    • chefshellina March 20, 2011 at 11:34 am #

      Try this recipe- but make sure to cook the custard longer than you think you should- mine came out too much like pudding and not enough like a firm pie filling. :/

  2. Alison March 20, 2011 at 11:21 am #

    This looks great! I love banana cream pie but have never found the “right” recipe. I am so going to try this one, thank you!

    • chefshellina March 20, 2011 at 11:29 am #

      Please do try it- and remember to stir continually throughout all the steps. Also, the reason I didn’t use my own photo for the post was mine didn’t set up enough- make sure to cook the custard a bit longer than you think you need to- we want the end product to be firm-ish, not pudding. 😉 Good luck, and thanks for coming by! 🙂

Leave a Reply

