Recipe: Soy & Sesame Salmon with Parmesan Pasta

17 Mar

This is kind of a recipe and a tip together- a two-for-one deal! (You know I like two-fer deals.)

The tip: if salmon is on sale, BUY IT.

No ifs, ands, or buts about this one. Repeat after me: If salmon is on sale, BUY IT.

There are a few reasons for this “always” rule. First, salmon rarely goes on sale- at least in my grocery store. Second, it ain’t cheap at full price. Third, it’s delicious. Fourth, it’s a huge source of omega 3 fatty acids, and you need those. And five, (as if reasons 1-4 weren’t enough for you), I said so. Have I steered you wrong in our long two weeks together? 😉

So, we learned something today. That feels so good, doesn’t it? Well, get ready to really feel good, because we’re about to learn something else: the following recipe for cooking salmon will make you want to eat it every night of the week. Every. Night.

Soy & Sesame Salmon


Ingredients:

  • 2 tbsp soy sauce
  • 1 tsp grated fresh ginger
  • 1 tsp dark sesame oil
  • 1 garlic clove, minced
  • 1 pound of salmon fillets

Directions:

  1. Combine all ingredients, pour over salmon fillets.
  2. Marinate for several hours, or overnight. (we start it marinating in the fridge before we go to bed, then cook it the next day.)
  3. Preheat cast iron pan in the oven, 500 degrees (F).
  4. Pull out the pan, put a small amount of canola oil in the bottom, pan-sear salmon skin-side-up for 1 minute.
  5. Flip salmon in the pan, skin-side-down.
  6. Immediately return pan and fish to the oven, cook for 8-9 minutes until fully cooked. (If salmon is bright pink and shiny in the middle, it’s not done. Cook until flaky.

I highly suggest you serve this dish with some kind of pasta. My mother-in-law just boils up some Soba Noodles (buckwheat noodles). I, however, prefer a Parmesan flavor. Try both- they’re equally awesome.

Parmesan Pasta

Ingredients:

  • family-sized amount of whole wheat spaghetti (about half a box for 3 people)
  • 4 tbsp butter
  • 5 chopped green onions
  • 2 tbsp chopped basil
  • salt/pepper (to taste)
  • ½ cup grated Parmesan cheese
  • 2 cloves minced garlic

Directions:

  1. Cook pasta.
  2. While pasta is cooking, melt butter in a large pan.
  3. Add minced garlic, onions, and basil to the butter.
  4. Add pasta, cheese, and salt/pepper to taste.

How do you cook your salmon, and what do you serve with it? We’d love to know. Leave it in the comments.

Download the .pdf version of these recipes HERE.

11 Responses to “Recipe: Soy & Sesame Salmon with Parmesan Pasta”

  1. coffeequilter March 17, 2011 at 11:22 am #

    This looks really good. Like you salmon is not cheap here either but i will have to start watching for sales so I can try this!

    • chefshellina March 17, 2011 at 11:35 am #

      For sure. And a word to the discerning: when you buy it, cook it within 2 days, and don’t freeze it. Of course, it CAN be frozen, but it’s oh so much better fresh. Good luck finding a sale- I can’t wait to see how you liked the recipe. 🙂

  2. lifetasteslikefood March 17, 2011 at 11:58 am #

    Yummm. I usually stick to making my salmon with lemon and butter or brown sugar but this looks delish! I really need to branch out and experiment more with salmon. This will be next on the list. Thanks for sharing!!!

    • chefshellina March 17, 2011 at 12:00 pm #

      You and I both- there are SO many ways to cook this sweet fish. brown sugar, for example- I’ve never thought of that!

  3. Korena March 18, 2011 at 8:57 pm #

    This looks great! I also usually gravitate towards brown sugar (and soy sauce) on salmon, but I’ll have to try it this way 🙂

    • chefshellina March 18, 2011 at 9:13 pm #

      It’s delicious- but as I’ve learned recently, there are SO many ways to cook salmon! Let me know how you like this variation. 🙂

  4. lillagreca March 19, 2011 at 7:07 am #

    I love salmon and parmesan cheese and this dish looks so pretty and yummy!

    • chefshellina March 19, 2011 at 10:06 am #

      Thank you! It’s really easy to make, and you’re right, it’s pretty. 🙂

      • lillagreca March 19, 2011 at 12:34 pm #

        I know a good looking dish when I see one! 😀

  5. where can I buy a case of lemons March 29, 2011 at 12:33 pm #

    Do you think using extra virgin olive oil would work with this dish? My family is on an anti-inflammatory diet as recommended by Dr. Oz and Dr. Perricone so I am trying to use olive oil where I can.
    Thanks
    Janet

    • chefshellina March 29, 2011 at 3:13 pm #

      Olive oil tends not to fry as well, but it will certainly do the trick to finish off your salmon. Try it and let us know how it works out. Seriously- I’d like to know- and good for you, Janet, for going after that anti-inflammatory diet (I love Dr Oz- watching it right NOW actually. No joke.)

Leave a Reply

