Recipe: Buffalo Chicken Wraps

16 Mar

Last week was a lucky one- this week has been less than lucky. We’ll start with the lucky:

I found 20 oz. Boneless skinless chicken breasts on sale for 50% off. I kid you not. And here’s why that’s lucky: it was Gold’n’Plump, which rarely goes on sale, and our family eats chicken very often. So, sweet! Cheap dinners! (You guys know I’m all about the cheap.)

And now, the unlucky:

I’ve got no ground beef, and it’s NOT on sale. So here I am with 8 packages of awesome, 50% off chicken- the purchase of which ate up my protein budget for the next two weeks. (Expect lots of chicken recipes this week and next, folks.) Also unlucky, I forgot to pull out any of the said chicken from the freezer until 25 minutes before my hungry husband was due home from work. AND I had yet to plan my meals for the week. So what’s a plan-less, luck-less, ground beef-less, out-of-time mom to do?

Well I’ll tell you what this mom did: I made miracles in the form of Buffalo Chicken Wraps. This recipe is one of those “emergency” recipes I keep on hand. You know the ones: it’s the recipe that has few enough ingredients to always have on hand, the one you pull out when unexpected guests come over, and yeah, the one you use when you totally biff it on supper plans for the evening. With only 4 main ingredients (plus flour/spices) this recipe is not only delicious, it gets an A+ in “works well with others”.

Buffalo Chicken Wraps


Ingredients:

  • 20 oz boneless skinless chicken breasts (or one chicken breast per diner), cut into strips
  • 1 cup flour
  • 2 tsp salt
  • 1 tsp black pepper
  • ½ tsp cayenne pepper (or more, if desired, for spicier chicken)
  • ½ tsp paprika
  • Liberal amounts (as much or as little desired) of your favorite barbecue sauce (we use Famous Dave’s Rich & Sassy)
  • Blue cheese dressing (the chunkier the better)
  • Lettuce
  • tortillas or wraps
  • 2-4 tbsp canola oil (or other frying liquid of choice)

Directions:

  1. Heat oil in a large pan.
  2. Mix dry ingredients in a large Tupperware container.
  3. Add chicken strips, put the top on the container, and shake until meat is coated.
  4. Shake excess flour mix from chicken strips, fry in the hot oil until golden brown and fully cooked.
  5. Remove from heat, liberally add barbecue sauce to chicken. Make sure all chicken is fully covered in sauce.
  6. Fill wrap with chicken, blue cheese dressing, and lettuce. Roll, enjoy.

Within 25 minutes I went from having a package of rock-hard frozen chicken and no plan to a well-rounded meal. That’s another win for Momma.

Download the .pdf version of this recipe HERE.

10 Responses to “Recipe: Buffalo Chicken Wraps”

  1. Marrow-minded fool March 16, 2011 at 1:58 pm #

    these look great! i love buffalo chicken wraps!

    • chefshellina March 16, 2011 at 2:00 pm #

      I know, right? And, I can’t stress enough how EASY these are. No long marinades, no fancy spices (although you COULD fancy these up if you’d like). But if you’re in a jam, these are soooooo perfect. 🙂

  2. lillagreca March 16, 2011 at 3:27 pm #

    Yummy! I love Buffalo chicken and I love wraps…what a wonderful combination! And my mouth is watering just thinking about the chunky blue cheese dressing… 🙂

    • chefshellina March 16, 2011 at 3:28 pm #

      Mine was too- so I had the leftovers for lunch. 😉

  3. literarychicks78 March 16, 2011 at 11:27 pm #

    I wonder how they would taste smothered with diced tomatoes and finely, grated cheddar cheese.

    • chefshellina March 16, 2011 at 11:36 pm #

      Probably amazing. However, I’d kick up the spiciness if I were to add cheese and tomatoes- our recipe is relatively mild, because only the blue cheese is there to cool it down. With more cooling ingredients, it’d need more kick.

  4. lifetasteslikefood March 17, 2011 at 12:00 pm #

    I love anything buffalo style!!! Making wings from scratch take so long though, and this looks like a great alternative to get my fix!!! I want some right now, even though it’s 10am 🙂

    • chefshellina March 17, 2011 at 12:01 pm #

      I know, right? I’ve been craving them since I whipped em up. (Darn pregnancy lol)

  5. Alison March 20, 2011 at 11:27 am #

    These look amazing!

    • chefshellina March 20, 2011 at 11:30 am #

      Oh man, they’re so easy, and my husband requests them at LEAST once a month. Enjoy. 🙂

Leave a Reply

