Recipe: Eggless Banana Bread

12 Mar

This week I planned to make my recipe for banana bread for you guys. I was all excited- I got the bananas over-ripe by putting them in a paper bag for two days, (it’s true, they’ll ripen faster like that), I made sure I had the time to do it, I even made sure the kiddo was tired enough to hang out in his room so I could get it done. I’m nothing if not a planner.

However, even the best planners can’t compensate for unforeseen issues. Case in point: a hungry husband who simply MUST have the last two eggs on the morning I’m supposed to make banana bread.

Needless to say, I threw a hissy-fit. However, when I was done behaving like my two year old, I gathered my wits about me, and decided to try the recipe without eggs. I looked up on Google substitutes for eggs, and found that vanilla yogurt could do the trick. (I also looked up eggless banana bread recipes to make sure I wasn’t going to be wasting my time.) Here’s the result- a melding of my recipe and an eggless one found at http://www.archanaskitchen.com/desserts/cakes/181-eggless-banana-bread:

 

Eggless Banana Bread

Ingredients:

  • 1 ½ cups all purpose flour
  • ¾ cups brown sugar
  • 1 ½ tsp baking powder
  • ¼ cup melted butter
  • 1 cup mashed bananas (2 bananas approx)
  • 1 cup yogurt
  • 1 teaspoon vanilla extract

Directions:

  1. Preheat the oven to 350 degrees (F)
  2. Blend butter and sugar.
  3. Add bananas and yogurt, mix until fully blended.
  4. Add flour, ¼ cup at a time, then add baking powder.
  5. Pour batter into a greased pan (or three tiny ones like I did) and bake for 35-40 minutes. (Tiny pans should only take about 25 minutes)

The moral of the story: A wiser and more patient woman, rather than behaving like a toddler when things didn’t go her way, would have just bucked up and made the eggless bread without a fuss.

I’ll try to remember that for next time.

 

Download .pdf file of recipe HERE.

 

6 Responses to “Recipe: Eggless Banana Bread”

  1. Holley March 12, 2011 at 10:58 am #

    How did the bread taste? Did you notice a change in consistency or flavor without the eggs?

    • chefshellina March 12, 2011 at 12:20 pm #

      Indeed- the bread tasted like yogurt-banana bread. (A bit tangy, lol). It was good, but the consistency was more dense than regular banana bread. Decent, but our regular recipe is preferred. (We’ll post that one soon!)

  2. literarychicks78 March 12, 2011 at 10:23 pm #

    My dad is a master of emergency meals. Reading your article brought to mind a day when all of the family was home. People were getting hungry, but we thought we were prepared. How horrified we were to find that the luncheon meat that we had planned to serve was no longer in the fridge. But our lunch meat thieves weren’t getting the best of dad. Chicken was cut off the bone, then into small pieces so that it would cook faster, cream of chicken soup became the gravy, instant mashed potatoes were mixed up, a couple of cans of vegetables pulled from the shelf and heated. The buns, meant for those sandwiches, and potato chips topped off the meal, then my cool, collected father called everyone to eat as though nothing had happened. He tells me that a good cook can take an empty cupboard and make a nutritious meal. I think he’s stretching it a little there, but his resourcefulness has taught me that if the relish jar is empty, grab the pickles.

    • chefshellina March 12, 2011 at 10:31 pm #

      You know, I think he might be almost right- there are times when a mom (or dad) has to go into the kitchen and make it happen- with no planning, no recipes, and no whining. Good for your dad, and good luck to to us as we keep making magic (or attempting magic) in our kitchens, huh? 🙂

  3. Michelle March 14, 2011 at 10:01 am #

    Hey Shellina,
    We don’t tend to eat all the bananas from the bunch that we get at Sams. The last 2-3 get really ripe (almost black), then I throw them in the freezer. When I have 4 bananas, I double my banana bread batch. I think this makes my banana bread especially moist. And when those bananas are frozen, you can make the bread when you have the time and the eggs! 🙂 Then I of course freeze the extra loaf. Baked goods in the freezer are a lifesaver for impromptu coffee playdates!

    • chefshellina March 14, 2011 at 10:05 am #

      Excellent idea- I’d never thought of freezing the bananas!

Leave a Reply

