Recipe: Chickpea and Tomato Salad

10 May

Have you ever felt like you needed another weekend to recover from the weekend you just enjoyed? This past weekend was like that for me- and when I say I enjoyed it, I mean I really enjoyed it. For the the first time in ten years, my mom and I spent Mother’s day together. (She lives in Colorado, I live in Minnesota.) It was wonderful; we ate, we laughed, we spent copious amounts of money at Ikea to re-decorate my apartment in preparation for baby #2, and we loved every second of it. (We didn’t even get in an argument this time- and for two chatty-cathies like ourselves, that’s worth a mention.) It was heavenly.

And yet, I feel tired, emotional, and I’ll admit- a bit cranky now that she’s gone. It’s normal. Whenever she leaves I get a little down for a week or so, then start looking forward to the next visit, which is only a few short weeks away! She, my dad, my in-laws, and some friends will be celebrating with me as I graduate college- SO stoked.

In an effort to keep my spirits lifted, I’ve thrown myself back into my cooking, and a new challenge that I’ve found to be piqueing my interest: getting a photo of mine accepted onto http://www.foodgawker.com. Seriously you guys, I’m dedicated. Hopefully you’ll see my photos improving- practice makes perfect, right?

This recipe comes from one of those I found while surfing foodgawker, actually- The Merry Gourmet. LOVED all of these photos and recipes, but this one stuck out to me especially because of its fun flavor combinations and bright colors.

Chickpea & Tomato Salad

Adapted from http://www.merrygourmet.com/2011/04/chickpea-salad-with-feta-and-herbs/

Ingredients:

  • 1 15-ounce can chickpeas (garbanzo beans), rinsed and drained
  • 1 cup cherry tomatoes, sliced in half
  • 1 tablespoon chopped fresh mint
  • 1 tablespoon chopped fresh basil
  • 2 tablespoons extra virgin olive oil
  • 3/4 tablespoon red wine vinegar
  • 4 oz mozzarella cheese, cubed
  •  kosher salt
  • freshly ground black pepper

Directions:

  1. In a medium bowl, combine chickpeas, sliced cherry tomatoes, mint and basil.
  2. In a small bowl, whisk together olive oil and red wine vinegar until combined. Pour over chickpeas and toss together. Add cheese and toss gently. Season to taste with salt and black pepper.

Do you have a healthy salad recipe for summer? Share it in the comments!

Download the .pdf of this recipe: Chickpea & Tomato Salad

5 Responses to “Recipe: Chickpea and Tomato Salad”

  1. Apron Appeal May 10, 2011 at 2:10 pm #

    I can’t eat chickpeas (food allergies) but I just have to tell you, this photo is amazing. I saw it on food frenzy and just had to tell you.

    • chefshellina May 10, 2011 at 2:14 pm #

      Oh my… thank you so much for this comment. I’ve been practicing my photography skills, and it means a LOT to hear that it’s paying off. Thank you for stopping by- and you’ll be happy to know this was my first chickpea recipe, and I don’t use them often. check back soon. :)

  2. Lisa @ Tarte du Jour May 13, 2011 at 5:25 pm #

    This looks delicious, healthy, and colorful! Well done on the top nine!

    • chefshellina May 13, 2011 at 6:44 pm #

      Thanks so much for stopping by- and top 9- I KNOW! Crazy, right?! I couldn’t believe it. ;)

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Recipe: Naked Turkey Burgers « The Frugal Flambe - May 13, 2011

    [...] May Exciting news, y’all: one of our photos, the one of the Chickpea and Tomato Salad, was accepted to both Tastespotting and Tasteologie! This is exciting because these sites typically [...]

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 42 other followers

